Competitive Trainer School ep.1: Formats & Tiers

Hi guys, girls and anything in between! This is a concept I wanted to do since I first started to be good at Pokémon. It took me few months to be a OK competitive team builder and I am still learning how to play properly. In these articles called Competitive Trainer School, I will cover each theoretical aspect for competitive Pokémon. Each article will cover one important aspect and hopefully help you learn how to get better. Keep one thing in mind: I can teach you, but I cannot think for you. Once you have this knowledge, it is your turn to apply it.

Special thanks to Fildrong, Redemption and Hari, the three French YouTuber who taught me everything (or almost) and gave me back my love for Pokémon.

If it is to start playing on Hard mode for Pokémon Insurgence, to enter the official Would Championship Series, to claim dominance over Smogon’s alternative format or just to chill out with friends and have exciting matches, competitive Pokémon is at your reach and there is one little more step to do.

I am not a professional competitive trainer. I do not pretends to hold the holy sacred Truth and in no mean replace experts and experienced players. I simply think I have strong enough bases to share my knowledge with less experienced players.

In that time, back in 2018, where I was coatching newer players, they always asked me about vocabulary and team advices. Sure, I would answer them before they send me their (ofter crappy) teams. Before ANY comments, I always asked one thing:

What format is it?

You see, Pokémon is not a game where there is only one way to play competitively. This is for me the most important thing to learn. Before knowing terminology, I think a player must first learn what game they are playing.