Competitive Trainer School ep.2: Smogon Metagame

Last Episode

Hi guys, girls and everything in-between! I tackled the OU in the previous article, but just a little bit and I heven’t mention the mess that is the tiering system. Open your books folks, school is on.

I am not a professional competitive trainer. I do not pretends to hold the holy sacred Truth and in no mean replace experts and experienced players. I simply think I have strong enough bases to share my knowledge with less experienced players.

What are the tiers?

Tiers are a way to classsify Pokémon based on their strengh and usage. The key here is usage.

How does this mess works?

They follow a certain hierarchy. Think of it as a pyramid:
Tiers

If you ever wonder, yes, the Insurgence simulator got it wrong. PU does not stands for Pooly Used. It does not mean anything.

By default, every new Pokémon are sent to OU. If they manage to be used pass the 3,41% of usage (or 4,52% in Sword and Shield), they are considered OU. If the player base decide it is too strong for OU, the Pokémon is sent to Ubers. In the case the Pokémon is not played enough, it drops to UU. And it starts over again. The Pokémon is either sent tu UUBL (more en that later) or drops to RU. Then it goes on and on. If a Pokémon is too weak for PU, it is shamed with the biggest dishonour for a fully evolved Pokémon and is classified as Untiered, meaning it is strictly discouraged to be used in any tiers if your goal is winning. Pokémon like Luxray, Pachirisu or Dunsparse find their home there.

There is also there other separated case: LC, AG and NFE.

LC is the Little Cup. Independent from the other tiers, I could say it has its own Pyramid because the LC has its own LC Uber and LC UU. To be classed LC, the Pokémon must not be an evolution and have at least one. This mean it is a tier where common faces are Onix, Pawinard and Corphish. Games are played at level 5, so EV spreads are radically different from the other formats.