Competitive Trainer School ep.4: Terminology

Last episode.

Hi guys, girls and everything in-between! I know, I should have done this earlier, but I wasn’t excepting needing so much of the competitive terminology last time. And again, I haven’t talked as much about team structure as I wanted because of this. Open your books folks, school is on.

I am not a professional competitive trainer. I do not pretends to hold the holy sacred Truth and in no mean replace experts and experienced players. I simply think I have strong enough bases to share my knowledge with less experienced players.

Vocabulary

These ones are those I’ve seen the most confusion. For the challenge, let’s do that in alphabetical order.

• Bulk

Bulk is the capacity of the Pokémon to take hits reliably. It is a combination of HP, Defence and Special Defence.

• Core

A core is a combinason of two or more Pokémon who have great synergy together, offensively of defensively.

Example of each core:
Mega Gardevoir and Talonflame are a great offensive core because they put heavy pressure on each other’s checks. Talonflame can use Priority Brave Bird/Accrobatics to deal with Gengar and other frailer offensive Pokémon while Gardevoir dominate every slow Bulky Pokémon in the game, like Tyranitar.
282-m 663

Gliscor and Toxapex each cover all of the other’s weakness (except for psychic), they also works well as a Hazard Controll core. Gliscor use Defog while Toxapex have Toxic Spikes.
472 748

• Coverage

Attacks that are made to widen the number of Pokémon the user can hit for supper effective damage. Fire and Ground are very popular coverage because they hits most Steel types supper effectively. Ice is also very strong when used with Electric, the reason later.

• Cleric

Clerics are Pokémon using Heal Bell, Aromatherapy or other moves that heal status for all party member. They are most commonly found is Stall Teams.

• Clean