Competitive player school ep10: Team Preview

Last episode.

Hi guys, girls and everything in-between! As I’m back on track, let’s talk about something you probably didn’t know you needed, or don’t even need for that matter. Today, I’ll be talking about three things at once: Lead, Gameplan and Win Condition. Be warned, this is the longest episode so far. Feel free to stop and get back later if you need it. As this one is extremely long, I have many more chances to tell complete bull :poop: by moments.

Open your books folks, school is on!

I am not a professional competitive trainer. I do not pretend to hold the holy sacred Truth or to replace experts and experienced players. I simply think I have strong enough bases to share my knowledge with less experienced players. HERE IN PARTICULAR!!

Alright. You are starting your battle after waiting 5 minutes for someone to play Ins.OU with you. Here comes a new challenger! Since both of you are somewhat beginner, you don’t use your own handcrafted teams and you decide to use sample teams from one of our first episodes. Here is the team preview:

(opponent)icon157_1 icon381 icon647 icon479_2 icon598 icon645_1

(You)icon376_1 icon647 icon380 icon036 icon248_2 icon227

So, what do you do? How will you start the match?

Understanding the matchup

You can somewhat easily understand the matchup if you know what the Pokémon tend to run. By comparing the Pokémon present on the two teams, you can see what Pokémon are roadblocks for your sweeper(s)/cleaner(s) and what Pokémon can beat you.