Competitive Trainer School ep.7: IVs

Last episode.

HI guys, girls and everything in-between! Following the EV episode, we tackle IVs. From all, THIS is, in my opinion, the worst part of making a competivie team before gen 7. Why? Let’s just say the way to get good legendairy is far more imporbable than getting a shiny one. That’s why I though it was basically impossible to have a competitive team without cheating until those Silver Caps and Golden Caps came into existence. Thank Giratina you have introduced Mint in Gen 8.
Open your books folks, school is on

I am not a professional competitive trainer. I do not pretends to hold the holy sacred Truth and in no mean replace experts and experienced players. I simply think I have strong enough bases to share my knowledge with less experienced players.

Now, we shall address ine question: “Why the heck would I care about that?”

Short answer: “Be polite, we are not in an electoral debate.”
Long answer: “Be polite, we are not in an electoral debate. Plus, it raise or decrease your stats. Now shut up and let me talk!”

Hostility aside, IV stand for Individual Value or Inner Value. These can range from 0 to 31, giving 1 point per IV in a given statistic at level 100. Pokémon is a game of inches, every point counts. As such, having 30 IV in speed is far more dangerous than 31 IV. Why? Let’s see with an example:

Latios vs Gengar. They both have 110 speed, both at level 100 and 252 EV Speed. So, its a speed tie, right?

Nope! If Latios have 1 speed less than Gengar, its chance of survival turn from ½ to 0 because Gengar will allways outspeed it and K.O. with Shadow Ball. Latios then faints and everyone cry because our blue friend loose its self confidence, not being able to communicate its pain to his trainer and Latias roaming in the wild unable to help him. Destiny is tragic.