Another E4 Team Question

Hey everyone, noob here. I played Pokemon Blue, Crystal, and Sapphire as a kid, and haven’t played since then. This is the first Pokemon game I’ve played in more than a decade. I made it to the Elite Four, with Bulbapedia open the entire time to check the weaknesses of every Pokemon. I’ve done a little bit of reading, so I now know the basics of stuff like EV/IV and what some OP items are, but I’m still pretty noob. Choosing my team involved looking at Bulbapedia’s list of all Pokemon sorted by base stats, and trying to make a diverse group. My entire battle strategy revolves around having strong attacks of every type and killing every enemy in one or two hits. The only status move I have is hypnosis on my Mew for catching Pokemon. It’s been working pretty well so far, but the Elite Four seem to be a whole 'nother beast, and I think I might need to revamp my team. Anyways, let me show you my team first:

So, this is the crew at the moment. I just got to the Elite Four, made one attempt, and got smashed so badly in the first fight that I know I have a lot of work to do, and probably getting a few more levels on each of my 'mons is probably not enough. If you were in my position, what do you think would be the most straightforward way to make this team feasible?

1 Like

The elite 4 scale to your level. So make sure your team is at the same level as your best mon (in your current case the entire elite 4 would be level 91).
As for strategy, Gyarados can sweep one or two of the elite 4. Taunt, Dragon/Sword Dance, EQ, Waterfall/Aqua tail set would smash baton pass team, and ground team. Make sure to use taunt first and then DD to set up.
As for other members, make sure you don’t have redundant moves, and understand which is more physical and which is more special attacker. For instance you don’t need both flamethrower and flare blitz on arcanine.
Also make sure you have a fairy type as the champion would be a lot harder without one.

1 Like